SOME 50 rowers from the Isle of Wight — from Year 7s to masters — competed in the IWRF Indoor Rowing Championships at the weekend.

Hosted by Shanklin Sandown Rowing Club, the competition saw some excellent racing.

The Year 13 boys' event saw Shanklin’s Fred Giemza-Pipe post the fastest time of the day for 2km, in 6mins 26.4secs, a new PB.

The girls' equivalent races were also won by Shanklin rowers, Esme Walters and Theodora Travers, with both setting new PB times for the distance.

Six rowers contested the Year 11 boys' race, with Shanklin’s Louis Sheasby beating clubmate Carter Horrix.

In the girls' race, Evie Crew took top spot.

The Year 9 girls' event also had an all-Shanklin field of six, with Annabelle Steward taking the plaudits over the four-minute race.

The adult events were also hotly-contested, with Faye Faber, of Newport, winning the ladies' masters race — and recording the fastest time of the day in the women’s events.

Simon Nevitt also achieved a PB to win the men’s Masters 40 class.

The Masters 50 was won by Kev Faithfull, while the men’s open race was won by Newport’s Nathaniel Hamilton.

There were also wins for Freddie Bounds and Rosie Morris in the Year 7 event, and Digby Ridgewell and Connie Batley-Smith in the Year 8 races, with all four experiencing an indoor rowing competition for the first time.